Mayor & City Commission

Regular Meetings
  • 7:30 p.m.
  • 2nd Tuesday of every month
  • City Commission Room
    City Hall
    45 E Long Lake Road
    Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304

All City Commission meetings are open to the public, except for portions of meetings in which the subject of discussion warrants a closed meeting in accordance with exceptions provided in the Open Meetings Act.

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


About Your Local Government

Your Mayor and City Commission are an active, elected body of government responsible for legislation and policy-making for the City. The voters elect five at-large Commission members. Commission members are elected on a non-partisan ballot. Commission members are elected for two-year terms. All five Commission seats are up for election in odd-year November elections.  The Commission members then select a Commission member to be the Mayor and another to serve as Mayor Pro-Tem. The Mayor holds office for one year.


The City Commission members are devoted to:
  • Adopting City ordinances
  • Appointing members to boards and commissions
  • Approving the City budget based on income generated by property taxes and other income sources
The City Commission appoints the City Manager, City Clerk, Finance Director/ Treasurer and Director of Public Safety. The City Manager serves as the City's Chief Administrative Officer. Except for the purpose of inquiries, the City Commission addresses administrative services through the City Manager.

Contact the Commission

To contact a City Commission Member, you may leave a message at City Hall.